Like Christmas Morning

Last week, I ordered Industrial Saviors: Music to Cure Cancer and a couple of Collide albums, These Eyes Before and Two Headed Monster. I was just going to buy These Eyes Before, but they came in a bundle and I couldn’t resist.

Lucky for me, both packages came in the mail today. I’m listening to These Eyes Before right now and listened to a few tracks off Industrial Saviors earlier. These Eyes Before is a very excellent cover album including tracks from Radiohead, David Bowie, Moody Blues, Depeche Mode, Pink Floyd and The Beatles. Frankly, Collide’s version of Creep totally blew my mind and that’s the whole reason I bought the album. Creep is exactly what a cover should be in my opinion – true to the original, with the covering band infusing their own personality, flavor and emotion seamlessly into the piece. I heard a couple of other tracks on Dark Horizons and figured it was a worthy purchase, so here I am.

Normally I don’t pay much mind to the packaging, but the 2 cd bundle came wrapped in black tissue paper and included a little thank you signed by both band members. Collide definitely gets extra bonus points for these little touches and this is just one of the reasons I like buying music directly from the band. For a few bucks more, Collide will even sign your CD. I passed on the autograph, since I’ve just discovered the band, but it is still very cool that they offer the option.

I’m definitely looking forward to listening to the rest of the new music at work tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

