Kilted Farmer Presents Street Team

In an effort to make sure the Twin Cities continue to bring in great music in the electronic/industrial/ebm/synthpop/etc. genres of music, I’ve joined the Kilted Farmer Presents street team. I go to a lot of concerts and it seemed like it was time to step up and help.

At present, there aren’t very many people in the Twin Cities promoting the industrialish types music and Trace, the Kilted Farmer himself, has done a fantastic job with the shows I’ve been to. He promoted the August Unter Null show at Ground Zero and since I purchased a VIP ticket for that show, I got to see a little of what goes on behind the scenes. He really seems to have his act together and treated the bands well.

No one promoting these types of bands is in it for the money – they’re in it for the love of music. Promoters take more than their fair share of losses and often just strive to break even. It sure would be a shame to see a guy like Trace retire when there are few willing to pick up the slack right now. And since I have neither the time nor the resources to book bands myself, here I am, doing what I can do to help.

Sor far, my contributions have been setting up and maintaining a website and Twitter account. I don’t really know what the web site is going to develop into, but if nothing else, I hope it gets the name Kilted Farmer out there and ultimately helps to bring bodies in the door at shows. Bodies in the door means the venue keeps doing live music, the bands get paid, the promoter keeps booking bands and the fans get to see some great music. Sounds like a winning combination to me and I look forward to working with the other street team members. So far, it seems like this is a pretty cool group of people who are passionate about music.

To make a long story short, please check out www.kiltedfarmer.com, follow @kiltedfarmer on Twitter, Like Kilted Farmer Presents on Facebook, and if you still use the once mighty MySpace, add Kilted Farmer as a friend and help support great live music.

Leave a Reply

