New Radio K In Studio Performances

For those who aren’t from around here (i.e. the Twin Cities), the University of Minnesota has a pretty cool radio station called Radio K. They just posted a ton of recent in-studio performances. Since I was on the site and looked through the entire list anyway, I figured I may as well save you some trouble and post the ones I’ve bookmarked for a listen.

  • The Alpha Centauri
    Fairly experimental band that features one of my favorite vocalists, Linnea Mohn, also of Coach Said Not To, Rogue Valley, The Dale Hush Hush, Skirt and probably others.
  • Dessa
    I’ve been hearing a lot about Dessa lately and have been meaning to check out her work. She’s a writer, poet and spoken word artist who seems to have stumbled into hip hop. But you probably knew all that because I know I’m behind the curve here.
  • Doomtree SXSW 2011 | 2008-08-01
    Hip hop collective from Minneapolis and I know I’m totally behind the curve here as well. Dessa is a Doomtree member, along with Atmosphere, P.O.S. and more.
  • Funeral and the Twilight
    Check these guys out on episode 30. They’re a little bit out there musically fusing about a bazillion different genres and sounds together and that’s why I like them. Great live act, as well.
  • Gospel Gossip 2008-05-23 | 2008-06-25
    Gospel Gossip is a fun pop/rock/electronic (and somewhat quirky) band out of Northfield, MN. Caught a live set when they were on the bill with either Best Friends Forever or Dance Band and really liked what I heard.
  • Malachi Constant
    Heard a lot about these guys when I was DJing in college. Figured I should check out their live set.
  • P.O.S.
    Hip hop artist and member of Doomtree and Atmosphere. He was a panelist for a songwriting forum at Minnesota Public Radio that I attended back in 2008. I really enjoyed hearing his thoughts on the topic and have been meaning to check out his work more closely for a very long time.
  • School of Seven Bells 2008-11-22 | 2011-01-24
    My good friend Lucy introduced me to School of Seven Bells about a year ago. I’m still in the discovery phase with their work.
  • Spaghetti Western String Co.
    Saw these guys play at Patio Nights at the Minnesota Museum of American Art. Patio Nights were, quite possibly, the best part about summer in the Twin Cities. Unfortunately, the museum had to move out of their space and they no longer have the super kick ass patio (or any space right now), thus, no more Patio Nights *sniffle*. Spaghetti Western String Co. are no longer active, but I enjoyed their music and you can find some tracks available for free on their website.
Leave a Reply

